Droupadi Murmu Is India's New President - CoverNewz.com

Droupadi Murmu Is India's New President

Presidential Elections 2022: Droupadi Murmu, former Governor of Jharkhand, is the next President

India got its first tribal president yesterday as the NDA chose Draupadi Murmu garnering more than 60% of the total vote value. Yashwant Sinha of the opposition received defeat after three rounds. The President-elect will be sworn in on July 25.

These are the 10 top points:

 1. Draupadi Murmu obtained 64.03% of the total votes after three rounds of counting. Yashwant Sinha reached 35.97%. Mrs. Murmu received 2,824 votes worth 4,83,299 and Mr. Sinha received 1,877 votes worth 1,89,876. A value of 5,43,000 is required to win.

2. Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with senior members of his cabinet and BJP leader JP Nadda visited Mrs. Murmu to congratulate her. Celebrations erupted across the country,  with sweets and colorful tribal dances. At the age of 64, Mrs. Murmu will be India's youngest and first president born post-independence.

3. “Smt. Draupadi Murmu Ji has been an excellent MP and Minister. She had an outstanding tenure as Governor of Jharkhand. I am sure she will be an outstanding President who will lead from the front and underpin India's development journey," Prime Minister Modi tweeted.

4. "I heartily congratulate Srimati Droupadi Murmu on her victory in the Presidential Election 2022. I hope — indeed, every Indian hope — that as the 15th President of India she functions as the Custodian of the Constitution without fear or favor. I join my fellow countrymen in extending best wishes to her," read a statement from Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

5. Governors, cabinet ministers, chief ministers, and leaders of various political parties sent congratulatory messages to Mrs. Murmu. Police Chief Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal Chief  Mamata Banerjee, and NCP leader Sharad Pawar also congratulated her.

6. Odisha's Rairangpur, Mrs. Murmu's hometown, erupted in celebrations as the trend became apparent.

7. The NDA's selection of Ms. Murmu - a former governor of Jharkhand and a tribal woman from Odisha - brought the opposition to the attention and attracted non-aligned parties, such as  Biju Janata Dal by Naveen Patnaik and the YSR Congress by Jaganmohan Reddy. . The move is also seen as a major political message to the tribal community, which has recently been deemed unpopular by the BJP.

8. Voting figures also show a significant number of cross-votes by the opposition and pro-Murmu MPs. While parties claim to support either candidate, there is no penalty for cross-voting in presidential elections.

9. Although there is no hard data on the number of cross-votes, in some states the BJP claims that opposition MPs have split with their party. "Smt Draupadi Murmu won 104 votes against 79 for the initial strength of the NDA among the 126 members of Assam Council. 2 absent,"  Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted.

10. The winner of the presidential election is not the candidate who gets the most votes, but the one who crosses the quota. This quota is determined by adding up the number of votes received for each candidate, dividing it by two, and adding "1". Basically, add 50 percent. If someone doesn't pass it in the first place, the options then marked on the ballot will go into effect.

Post a Comment